Involved in a Florida auto accident? The more informed you are, the better off you will be. Here are five things you should know in the event that you are involved in a crash.
- You need to stay and render aid –
According to Florida Statute 316.062, the driver of any vehicle involved in a crash must remain at the scene and render “reasonable assistance” to any injured party. This can mean calling emergency medical services or administering CPR.
- You have to exchange information –
Florida law also requires individuals involved in a crash to exit their vehicles and exchange information, which can include showing your driver’s license.
- If police don’t file an accident report, you must do so within 10 days –
In some accidents, police do not show up and file a crash report. If this happened in your accident then Florida Statute 316.066 requires you to file a Florida Traffic Crash Report within 10 days of the crash.
- You should seek medical attention –
In Florida, you only have 14 days to do this or risk losing your PIP coverage. PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection, which covers any injuries you sustained in the car accident. Losing this coverage means that you will have to pay out of pocket for medical expenses.
- Don’t sign anything –
Unless the police are asking for your signature, avoid signing any type of document after your accident. Signing documents without an attorney present could put you at risk for losing compensation. Don’t sign anything or settle your claim until you consult with an attorney, because you could be entitled to more than you’re currently being offered.
As former insurance defense attorneys, the Tampa accident lawyers at Robert Sparks Attorneys know how insurance companies think. We know their tactics and we know how to work around them so that our clients can get the financial recovery they deserve. If you’ve been involved in a Florida car crash, contact Robert Sparks Attorneys today for a free case review.